Under the Covers: Donny Hathaway

Photo of Donny HathawayI’ve been carrying a soulful, jazzy spirit lately and I decided to search for the full Donny Hathway & Roberta Flack album on YouTube to listen to at work this morning.

With no success, I instead stumbled on a video, two and half hours long entitled the best of Donny Hathaway and Roberta Flack. It turned out to be the greatest accident of October thus far. Or maybe it was just fate.

I loved it so much, I looped it twice today and kept it on while hammering out my work for the day. My productivity was through the roof. It was a variety of hits and B-sides with and without Flack and it was just what I needed today.

And of course, there was one song that stood out from the rest – a cover of Carole King’s “You’ve Got a Friend.”

The gospel influence rained heavy on my heart and I’ve been floating ever since. Of course, I’m here to spread the joy and send positive vibes so enjoy.

Leave a Reply

