365 Days of Scheerer Delight: Wayback Wednesday

It’s story time folks.

I’m a couple day late writing this, but on Monday, Kanye West’s debut album — The College Dropout — turned 10 years old.

I will always remember the anticipation in buying that album. Since I was one of the few football players that had a computer in the dorms at College of the Redwoods – and my roommate was the team barber – I always had the latest music going on my computer and my stereo.

I remember discovering the world of bootlegs and mixtapes, where singles from College Dropout were leaked through Kazaa (yeah, I went there).

However, I knew I was going to be it on February 10, 2004 at the only music stop in town at the Bayshore Mall in Eureka, CA. I went to pick it up in between class, dropped it off in my room and headed to English, followed by team lifting.

After my workout, I showered and decided to take a quick nap. At some point while I was asleep, my roommate came in and swiped the CD (unwrapping the plastic and everything) to play it downstairs in another buddy’s room so they could blast it while playing Halo.

I remember waking up and hearing the bass and when I stepped outside to see what was going on, I heard “Jesus Walks” and from that point on, I was all in when it came to Kanye West.

I didn’t stop listening to that CD for my remaining 2 years at CR and it has always been a quintessential album in my collection since then.

While he may be a looney tune now, remember that most people that possess that kind of talent are eccentric. He just goes pushes a lot of peoples buttons when he does it.

It definitely makes me think back to all that has happened since I first listened to the album and its wild to see where my friends, teammates, myself, even Kanye, have wound up since that day. It’s overwhelming to think about.

“Keep your nose out the sky, keep your heart to God / And keep your face to the risin’ sun.”
–Kanye West, lyrics from “Family Business”

20140212-205141.jpg

Leave a Reply

