#SD365: Explore the Land of Oz

While I was on Christmas break, on a personal quest to accomplish nothing, I watched the prequel to the Wizard of Oz — Oz: The Great and Powerful.

EDITOR’S NOTE: I succeeded on my quest to accomplish nothing as I did not check my email during my five day break.

After I finished the movie, which was very visually and audibly stimulating, I decided that I would start reading the books, based on my mom’s suggestion. I never read any of these as a kid.

First being told there was six books, upon further research, I learned there were 13 books written by L. Frank Baum in the Oz series.

Knowing that the books were public domain, I decided to download all 13 of them on my Kindle.

With a 4.5 hour flight back to Chicago from Portland in my future, I decided to begin reading the first book.

This may come as a surprise to some, and maybe not to others, I am a very slow reader. Even though the series was intended for children heading into the first book, I figured this would take me years to accomplish.

I managed to read 90 percent of the book on my flight, even though one of the guys next me got up three times due to motion sickness.

I finished the book later that night after my drive back to DeKalb and decided to jump into the second book, The Marvelous Land of Oz, right after I finished the first, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. I recently finished the second book and will begin the third on my upcoming road trips.

Like the prequel and the original movies, I found the books very visually appeasing as Baum describes everything precisely.

The more I read, the more I realized how special a writer Baum was. To be able to write so clearly, writing less to say more, is a gift. It’s not often I read and smile and laugh while reading and I’ve done that through the first two books. I’m very much looking forward to Ozma of Oz, the third book in the series.

I strongly recommend reading or revisiting these books. I’ve felt pretty clear minded reading these books, simple minded like a child in the best possible ways, and if you own an e-reader, you’ll be able to explore the Land of Oz for free.

Everyone wants to feel younger, right? Take that first step.

#SD365

20140113-213747.jpg

Leave a Reply

