A Beacon of Light in This Dark Time

“Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not yet come. We have only today. Let us begin.”

— Mother Teresa

animated-candleburning3Yesterday the nation stopped for a moment and the eyes of the world were fixed on the small, New England community of Newtown, CT following the horrific shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School.

The headline caught me off guard, and when I saw the follow up report that 20 children died from this attack, I stopped what I was doing and my heart sunk. I had a hard time believing something like this could happen. I felt numb and the feeling carried throughout the rest of my day and through the evening.

It wasn’t long ago, Tuesday in fact, that a shooting at Clackamas Town Center (20 minutes from my parents home in Vancouver, WA) took place leaving two shoppers fatally wounded. When I woke up the next morning and saw The Today Show reporting live from the mall, it hit me. Bewildered, I trotted to work.

The following night, we were reminded of the devastation of Hurricane Sandy through New Jersey, New York and other areas of the United States with the “121212 Concert” at Madison Square Garden. With some of the biggest names in the industry performing, the music was a healer and put some souls at ease with funds being raised for the victims affected.

Fast forwarding back to last night, I wasn’t that hungry and when I had trouble falling asleep, I laid in bed and felt for the families and the people affected by these tragedies. It felt like the flu. My body ached.

A spiritual flush occurred at some point in the middle of the night and I fell asleep as peacefully as one could.

I realized through all of these events, with the outpour on social media and in the news, that we all felt the same way after the devastation. We all hung our heads and when we looked up, we asked “Why?”

We felt for these people and whether we knew it or not, we were all spiritually kindred. Through the holidays, we will remain akin as we connect with our families, our friends and our neighbors and reflect on those who are no longer able to do the same through these recent and tragic events.

We stand united with heavy hearts today and through the holidays. It’s a stark reminder that we must always reach out to those in need. We must remember that we have each other through these crises and we must endure.

And though we ask many questions in times like this, we must keep our trust in people, keep loving and keep our faith. It’s not easy but we must remain strong and endure.

“Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not yet come. We have only today. Let us begin.”

— Mother Teresa

One thought on “A Beacon of Light in This Dark Time

Leave a Reply

